top of page

Indonesian adventure


It has been several weeks I thought about that.


After meeting new people from everywhere throughout the world. After practicing and improving tmy English with them. It’s time to write my first article in English. Of course it won’t be perfect. I ask you not to be hard.


My family and friends have enough news in French. So I decided to write an article "summary" in English for each country that I will visit; just for my non-French speaking friends. First step: Indonesia.



After 10 months in Australia and New Zealand I began a new trip in Southeast Asia that starts at Bali in Indonesia.


I spent the first days in Kuta to enjoy cheap life and tourist activities around this city (nightlife, beach, massage...).


Then I went to Lombok in a family house at Tete Batu, an area in the South of Mount Rinjani (famous volcano on the island). Here I discovered the real local life, rice paddies, black monkeys and even a cars race. Such a happiness to be the only tourist in the village.


Then I reached Gili T to spend the Christmas days. Atmosphere very reggae, under the sun and heat that I had never seen at this time of the year. Snorkeling, beach and parties night were the main activities of these 3-4 days in paradise.


The day after Christmas I’m back to Kuta to welcome Geoffrey, a friend from France. Two party days before heading the direction of Ubud located in the center of Bali. Here I drove for the first time in my life a scooter and visited many unmissable places: monkey forest, Rice terrace (paddy), Penglipuran (village), Tirta Empul (Temple) and Goa Gajah (Temple).


Back again to Kuta for the New Year Eve. Before the big party we stayed 1 day in the south to enjoy Uluwatu, its temple and its surfer’s beaches. Then we tried the north and Seminyak where I discovered a richer side of Bali Island.


The NYE was monumental but I won’t say many things about that… I keep details for me! Bali ended; let’s go to a new island: Java.


A long day on the road by bus and ferry before arriving in Ketapang. In this region I visited (by night) Mount Ijen. One of the unique volcano in the world where you can see blue fire and, sometimes, blue lava. Original.


The day after volcano climbing we spent another long day in transportation... 9 hours in a bus to Surabaya and 5 hours in a train (the next day) to arrive at Yogyakarta. My best Indonesian town.


In Central Java there is Yogyakarta. A student city from a pleasant atmosphere arises. Many young people (of course) and few tourists. During 1 hour around the city in scooter I discovered the Buddhist and Hindu temples of Borobudur and Prambanan and Kukup Beach. A very nice part in this journey.


Finally Jakarta and its surroundings. We entered in another dimension with all these buildings but it's still enjoyable despite the pollution. After that we took a boat to Thousand Islands to get a small break out of the capital. Relaxing, snorkeling and visiting of Tidung Island and the beautiful Pari Island.


28 days of a crazy intensity that I’ll keep in mind for a long time. That's it, from now on I’m well-launched for Southeast Asia and nothing could stop me.




bottom of page